(The Other) Election Results

Who’s idea was it to announce the 2008 Baseball Hall of Fame elections on the same day as the New Hampshire Presidential Primary?

The Nominees were:


The Class of 2008 is:

Rich “Goose” Gossage, who tormented batters as one of the game’s most intimidating relief pitchers over a 22-season career, was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in balloting verified by Ernst & Young. He will be inducted into the Hall July 27 at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Gossage will be honored along with one of his former managers, Dick Williams, who was elected last month by the Veterans Committee. Former owners Walter O’Malley and Barney Dreyfuss, former commissioner Bowie Kuhn and former manager Billy Southworth, all deceased, will also be enshrined at the ceremony that will include the presentation of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for baseball writing to the late Larry Whiteside. The Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasting will be announced on Feb. 19. In the BBWAA election, 543 ballots, including three blanks, were cast by members with 10 or more consecutive years’ service. Players must be named on 75 percent of ballots submitted to be elected. This year, 408 votes were required.

Read more at the Baseball Hall of Fame website here – Writers Elect Gossage to Hall of Fame.

, ,

No comments yet.

I want to hear your thoughts!

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.